The Rosary

“The Rosary is a Scripture-based prayer. It begins with the Apostles’ Creed, which summarizes the great mysteries of the Catholic faith. The Our Father, which introduces each mystery, is from the Gospels. The first part of the Hail Mary is the angel’s words announcing Christ’s birth and Elizabeth’s greeting to Mary. St. Pius V officially added the second part of the Hail Mary. The Mysteries of the Rosary center on the events of Christ’s life. There are four sets of Mysteries: Joyful, Sorrowful, Glorious and––added by Pope John Paul II in 2002––the Luminous.

The repetition in the Rosary is meant to lead one into restful and contemplative prayer related to each Mystery. The gentle repetition of the words helps us to enter into the silence of our hearts, where Christ’s spirit dwells. The Rosary can be said privately or with a group.” –

Prayers of the Rosary:

The Apostles Creed (ASL )
Our Father (ASL, Latin, Spanish)
Hail Mary (ASL, Latin, Spanish)
Glory Be (ASL, Latin, Spanish)
Fatima Prayer


The Rosary in American Sign Language


The Rosary in English with subtitles:

The Rosary combined with Scripture, is a great way to learn, memorize and meditate on the life of Our Lord Jesus Christ.  Next to each mystery below is a link to applicable scripture and/or teachings of the Catholic Church found in the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

The Joyful Mysteries:

Recommended on Mondays and Saturdays.

1. The Annunciation (Humility) Luke 1:26-38; John 1:14
2. The Visitation (Charity/Love of Neighbour) Luke 1:39-56
3. The Nativity (Poverty) Luke 2:6-20; Matthew 1:18-25
4. The Presentation (Obedience) Luke 2:22-39
5. The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Joy in finding Jesus; prudence) Luke 2:41-51

These Rosary Devotions are in English with music and subtitles, created by and posted to YouTube by Catholic Devotions.

The Luminous Mysteries

Recommended on Thursdays.

1. The Baptism of Jesus (Faithfulness) Matthew 3:11-17; Mark 1:9-11; Luke 3:15-22; John 1:26-34
2. The Wedding Feast at Cana (Trust in the Lord) John 2:1-12
3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom (Conversion of heart) Mark 1:14-15; Matthew 5:1-16; Matthew 6:33; Matthew 7:21
4. The Transfiguration (Desire to become a new person in Christ) Matthew 17:1-8; Mark 9:2-10; Luke 9:28-36
5. The Institution of the Eucharist (Love of the Eucharist); Matthew 26:26-28; Mark 14:22-25; Luke 22:14-20; John 6:33-59


The Sorrowful Mysteries

Recommended for Tuesdays and Fridays.

1. The Agony in the Garden (True sorrow for sin; repentance) Matthew 26:36-46; Mark 14:32-42; Luke 22:39-46
2. The Scourging at the Pillar (Modesty and purity; mortification or self-denial) Matthew 27:26; Mark 15:15; Luke 23:16-22; John 19:1
3. The Crowning of Thorns (Moral courage; Love of our enemies) Matthew 27:29-30; Mark 15:16-20; John 19: 2-3
4. The Carrying of the Cross (Patience in suffering; fortitude) Luke 23: 26-32; Matthew 27:31-32; Mark 15:21; Luke 23:26-32
5. The Crucifixion (Perseverance; mercy) Luke 23: 33-46; Matthew 27: 33-54; Mark 15: 22-39; Luke 23: 33-47; John 19:17-37


The Glorious Mysteries

Recommended on Wednesdays and Sundays.

1. The Resurrection (Faith) Matthew 28: 1-10; Mark 16: 1-18; Luke 24: 1-49; John 20:1-29
2. The Ascension (Hope) Mark: 16: 19-20; Luke 24: 50-51; Acts 1: 6-11
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit (Love of God; gifts of the Holy Spirit) Acts 2:1-41
4. The Assumption* (Grace of a happy death; eternal happiness) Revelation 12:1
5. The Crowning of Mary as Queen of Heaven and Earth* (True devotion to Mary) Revelation 12:1

* Mary‘s Assumption and Coronation are implied in Revelation Chapter 12 and in other Biblical references, but neither is directly stated in the Bible.  Both events are part of Catholic Tradition. The Catechism of the Catholic Church defines the Assumption in Sections 966 and 974.